!!> BOOKS ✹ Bizarre Romance ✯ Author Audrey Niffenegger – 9facts.co.uk

Bizarre Romance includes thirteen stories that were written and illustrated by Audrey Niffenegger and her husband, Eddie Campbell Comics aren t really something that I m always drawn to, but these are not your typical short stories, or your typical comics They re unpredictably odd, perhaps a bit on the eccentric side, and there are some that leave you thinking And there is some incredible comic artwork Topics range from suspicion, to cats, fairies, aging, the topic of comics, and art, love, and othersThe Composite Boyfriendopens to the equivalent of a paper doll layout, including a naked man, assorted wardrobe accessories, etc etc., and is followed by a story which begins at the beginning of a morphing of what appears to be multiple parties love storiesI met him at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston where he worked as a guard I met him in a class I was taking I met him at a school where we both taught I met him at a party we smiled at each other across a crowded room We were introduced to each other by our mutual friend Paula, an Austrian immigrant who had escaped from the Nazis as a young girl RoseRedSnowRidingBeautyShoesHoodSleepingWhiteis the story of a brother and sister who are out shopping for Halloween costumes, and Roselyn declares that she is going as Queen RoseRedSnowRidingBeautyShoesHoodSleepingWhite I really loved the illustrations in all of these stories, but this was one of the better ones for Well, it was bizarre.Having read a few other of Niffenegger s books, I already knew I wasn t much of a fan of her style of bizarre But having been a longtime fan of Eddie Campbell, I thought I d give this a go because of his art Unfortunately, this anthology didn t make full use of his art, including several text only pieces.And Campbell decided to use a collage method that sporadically featured photos of real things pasted into his linework I found it very jarring when, say, a big colorful stack of waffles suddenly appeared on the page I would get knocked out of the story flow as I stopped to examine this stack of Instagram Twitter Facebook PinterestWhen I m sick, the most comforting things for me are books and tea So I m parked in an armchair right now with a giant fleece blanket, a Big Gulp sized cup of unsweetened iced tea, and a pile of books, trying not to feel so much like poop What better way to do that than to work my way through a bunch of ARCs that aren t coming out until later this month Ha ha cough cough cough cough ha cough ha, suckers cough cough blows nose I was really excited when I saw BIZARRE ROMANCE pop up on Netgalley because I really enjoyed THE TIME TRAVELER S WIFE, even especially if it was like Dr Who meets TWILIGHT and you might say to yourself, There is no way that premise would work WRONG I was excited to see what new and interesting ideas she would explore using graphic novels as her medium, with the assistance of the talented Eddie Campbell, whose surreal illustrations really complement the bizarre stories.BIZARRE ROMANCE is an anthology like collection, with each chapter being a different story The problem with anthologies is that, Bizarre Romance, the creation of mad scientist wife husband tag team Audrey Niffenegger and Eddie Campbell is a quirky collection of short stories, told mostly in illustrated form But note this this is the good kind of quirky quirky the same way a capybara is quirky, quirky like the perplexingly changing rules of the alleged Olympic sport of curling Quirky like that new doctor at the Princeton Plainsboro Teaching Hospital, Dr Gregory House Yes, he will insult your choice of shoe ware, hairstyle, and the band on your concert T shirt, but really, you don t want anyone else to cure your puzzling rectal bleeding, inexplicable respiratory duress, and the sudden baffling ability to play highly technical piano concertos despite never before having touched the instrument than Dr House You know, a good quirky The stories some published previously are all extremely strong Many contain fantastical elements like fairies, angels, and spectral cats Fans of Neil Gaiman and George Saunders will devour this b Popular Ebook, Bizarre Romance By Audrey Niffenegger This Is Very Good And Becomes The Main Topic To Read, The Readers Are Very Takjup And Always Take Inspiration From The Contents Of The Book Bizarre Romance , Essay By Audrey Niffenegger Is Now On Our Website And You Can Download It By Register What Are You Waiting For Please Read And Make A Refission For You !!> KINDLE ❄ I Blame The Scapegoats ❁ Author John O& – 9facts.co.uk Bizarre Romance By Audrey Niffenegger This Is Very Good And Becomes The Main Topic To Read Read ✓ Beneath the Earth By John Boyne – 9facts.co.uk The Readers Are Very Takjup And Always Take Inspiration From The Contents Of The Book Bizarre Romance Free ↠ Gagged By Richard Asplin – 9facts.co.uk Essay By Audrey Niffenegger Is Now On Our Website And You Can Download It By Register What Are You Waiting For Please Read And Make A Refission For You Every single story in this anthology is amazing These 150 pages took me on a roller coaster of emotions and left me thoroughly satisfied I want to thank NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an ARC of this book. I borrowed this book from the library, but I think it s one worth owning A marvelous collection Favorite Passages The room was enormous He could see the ceiling but not the walls There were a great many things in the room, too many for him to make sense of at first When he looked carefully, he could see piles of things Each thing was spherical, illuminated each one was in motion He drew near one pile and looked into a sphere Some children were building a snowman There were in a city A large shiny vehicle passed by the children, moving under it s own power, like a train One of the children threw a snowball at it In another sphere there was a war going on, something exploded, and he turned away quickly Lovers embraced in strange clean white bedrooms Water gushed from pipes into bathtubs no servants had to carry the water Bodies were stacked naked in mass graves Machines Murder Magic He saw things he had no words for He turned to the lady, who was standing in an empty space looking depressed How do you like it she asked him It s overwhelming, he said What is it The queen s children The future Whenever I open the freezer to get some orange juice or a waffle, I greet her Hi Jane Sometimes I tell her about current events, or the weather Mostly I just like knowing she s there via my blog this isn t my usual pick, the moment I saw it was by Niffenegger, I had to request it Wonderful illustrations accompany uniquely strange stories The Composite Boyfriend is decent but something I think my younger readers would like I enjoyed the tale of aging in Backwards in Seville, it is moving and heavier than the rest There is something endearing about the drawing of Helene with scarlet lips, and lipstick smudges on the glass Digging Up the Cat, seven years the animal rested in his grave, why the heck are the digging him up Each tale is odd, it s hit or miss, but always original I m just not always sure what was being said, whether the story tackled religion or art.It s a hard collection to review being as I don t read graphic novels Some of the stories left me confused Getting Out of Bed is really good, one for the artists It is a creative book, it s strange because in some of the stories I preferred the art to the prose and in others the pros I received the book for free through Goodreads Giveaways Even though I won this ARC I m thinking about buying it I loved the stories and artwork Unfortunately my copy did not come fully illustrated like the book is advertised, so I have to get the finished copy I only knew the author, Audrey Niffenegger, from her book The Time Traveler s wife Which I m ashamed to say I The introduction to this book starts off with Art is like love Not a good sign This was a poorly devised mashup between this couple The writing did not connect well at all with the artwork It was as if they could not decide between a collection of short stories or a graphic novel filled with short stories, so they decided to slap the two together haphazardly There was one story about Muybridge that Bizarre Romance


About the Author: Audrey Niffenegger

Audrey Niffenegger born June 13, 1963 in South Haven, Michigan is a writer and artist She is also a professor in the MFA Creative Writing Program at Columbia College Chicago Niffenegger s debut novel, The Time Traveler s Wife 2003 , was a national bestseller The Time Traveler s Wife is an unconventional love story that centers on a man with a strange genetic disorder that causes him to unpre


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *